AGRO-CLIMATIC REGIONS OF UTTAR PRADESH Dr SHALU DEPARTMENT OF GEOGRAPHY C.C.S. UNIVERSITY, MEERUT

Agriculture is the base of the economy of Uttar Pradesh. About 59.3% population of the state is engaged in the agricultural sector. The state produces about 19.87% of the foodgrains in the country. Thus, it stands at the first position at all India level in terms of foodgrains production.

The state of Uttar Pradesh is divided into 9 agro-climatic regions or zones on the basis of factors affecting the agriculture. *These zones are discussed below:*

- Bhabar and Terai Region: It includes the regions of foothills of Himalayas, like Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Rampur, Moradabad, Bareilly, Pilibhit, Lakhimpur-Kheri, Bahraich, Shravasti, etc.
- 2. **Central Western Plains**: It includes regions of Bareilly and Moradabad.
- 3. Western Plains: It includes Meerut division and its surrounding area.
- 4. Southern-Western Semi-Arid Region: It includes Agra division and its surrounding area.
- 5. **Central Plain:** It includes Kanpur and Lucknow divisions and Fatehpur regions.

- 6. **Bundelkhand Region:** It includes Jhansi and Chitrakoot divisions.
- **7. Northern-Eastern Plain:** It includes Gorakhpur division and regions of Gonda.
- **8. Eastern Plain:** it includes Varanasi, Faizabad, Azamgarh division and few states of Allahabad division.
- **9. Vindhya Region:** It includes regions of Mirzapur, Sonbhadra and Southern Allahabad.