Faculty   Faculty of Arts
Department of Political Science
Head of Department ::Prof. S.K. Sharma
The department came into existence in 1977 and the Post Graduate teachings at M.A. and M. Phil. levels started in the years 1978 and 1979, respectively. Till now, 96 students have obtained their Ph.D. degree. Students from abroad primarily from South-East Asian sub-continent and Africa have also obtained their M.A. and Ph.D. degrees. The department has also started a self financed PG Course in Public Administration with a view to develop understanding of development planning and structure & functions of various institutions. The department’s emphasis continues to initiate and strengthen empirical research at grass root level, both in rural and urban environment. The department has organized seminars on the current and significant themes as well as refresher courses sponsored by the UGC. A good number of students of the department qualify UGC-JRF/NET and also obtain scholarships from other government agencies. In last two decades, several students of the department have contributed to the national and local community in the areas of higher education, administration, judiciary, politics and social service. Some of them have made a mark on the foreign land also. The faculty members have published 23 volumes and more than one hundred research papers and articles. The department is also associated with a bi-annual journal ‘The Meerut Journal of Political Science and Public Administration’.Since its inception, the Department’s emphasis has been to initiate and strengthen the empirical research at grass-root level, both in rural and urban environment. The themes of this projects and dissertations try to touch the problem areas relating to the weaker sections of the society. Apart from the governmental and non-governmental institutions, political, social and administrative processes have also been studied. At micro level the research studies have emphasized on the role and functions of the regional and international institutions, having linkages and interaction of global factors at different levels. At present, the emphasis of research studies is in the areas of Administration, Development Studies, International and national Political System and Political Institutions and Processes.
Post Graduate Courses:
M.A. Political Science includes Western Political Thought, Public Administration, and International Politics, Comparative Politics, Political Sociology, Research Methods, Contemporary Political Theory and Indian political System.
M.A in Public Administration:
The study of Public Administration has gained significance in recent times both for understanding the strides of development planning in the last five decades and also the structures and functions of various institutions. Keeping this in view the two year course has been initiated under the self financing scheme.
M.Phil Program:
It is a two-semester program that incorporates Indian Political System, Social Science & Political Research, International Political System and Indian Political Economy.
Ph.D. Program:
A full time Ph.D. program is available in the areas of South Asian Relations, Public Administration, Indian Political System, Rural and Development Studies, Political Sociology, Political Communication, Criminal Justice System, Weaker Section and Women Studies and International relations.
Fields of Specialization:
Indian Political System, Public Administration, International System, Political Sociology, Development Studies
M.A.  in Political Science & M.Phil in Political Science.
M.A.Two years courses (Four semesters).
M.Phil. One year courses (Two semesters).
Regular Courses
Eligibility Conditions:
M.Phil Programme:-
Master Degree in concerned subject with 55% marks. The eligibility conditions regarding Bachelor’s degree and Intermediate examination are same as for admission to M.A
M.A. Programme:-
Second class Bachelor’s Degree (including concerned subject) with 55% marks and Second division in Intermediate examination or 50% in each of the Bachelor’ degree and Intermediate examination, separately.
Intake (Number of Seats):
M.A. (Political Science) has Twenty (20) seats.
M.Phil. (Political Science) has Ten (10) seats.
Designation Name Qulaifications Specializations Email Resume
Professor A. Sharma M.A. M.Phil. Ph.D.  International Relations, South East Asian Relations, Gender Studies Weaker Section, Rural  Development Email Resume
Professor (Head)
S. K. Sharma M.A., M.Phil. Ph.D.  Political Sociology, Comparative Politics,
Rural Communication Political Theory
Email Resume
Professor Prof. Pawan Kumar Sharma -- -- Email Resume
Associate Professor Dr. Rajendra Kumar Pandey -- -- Email Resume
M.A. Political Science (CBCS)
M.Phil. Political Science
Pre-Ph.D. Political Science
M.P.A. (Master of Public Administration)
Job opportunities:
Teaching and Research in P.G./U.G. Colleges and Universities, Administration in Services.
Govt. Degree Colleges (2002-2007)                           08
Govt. Degree Colleges (On contract)                         03
Self Financed/ Aided Institutions                                25
About Us | Faculty | Courses | Colleges | Institution | Establishment | Library | Admission |Syllabus |Contact Us
© Copyright Protected. Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut. All Rights Reserved.