FACULTY   Faculty of Science
Department of Botany (Center of Excellence )
Head of Department: Prof. Y. Vimala
The department of Botany was established in 1969.Initially, the aim was to impart higher education in innovative areas. Thus, M.Phil. programme was launched.Two years later, M.Sc. programme for providing specialization in Taxonomy was also started. Since 1998, marching with the requirements of time, the Department started M.Sc. Botany with specialization in Biotechnology. In the year 2000, the Department introduced another innovative course of great future utility- M.Sc. Industrial Biotechnology. In 2010, the M.Sc. syllabi of the department became common with the affiliated colleges and two specializations out of a list of 8 specializations were introduced. Following the UGC regulations 2009, a Pre-Ph.D. course work was also started in 2013.The department has so far produced over 250 Ph. D. and 500 M. Phil. students. Over 450 research and review articles have been published. The department has run U.G.C. teacher fellowship programme and U.G.C. leadership project for many years. It has also organized U.G.C. sponsored refresher courses for university and college teachers, besides organizing several National Workshops and Seminars. The department has strong research- oriented laboratories and has good facilities, e.g. HPLC, Image Analysers, Gel Documentation System, FTIR, AAS with Silicon Hydride generator, RT- PCR, Lyophilizer, horizontal and vertical air flow laminar air flow cabinets, Centrifuges, Microscopes, Spectrophotometers, deep freeze, etc. for conducting research in the areas of Reproduction biology, Tissue culture, Nitrogen fixation and Rhizobium technology, Environmental pollution, Heavy metal toxicity, Cytogenetics, Stress physiology, Sol Microbiology, Microbial bioremediation of pollutants, Microbial Nanotechnology, Plant Pathology and Microbiology. It bears the glory of internationally reputed teachers, a well- developed Museum, and Herbarium & Botanical garden are points of attraction for people from different universities, institutes & departments. A very high percentage of its students qualify UGC/CSIR sponsored NET, GATE & SET besides PCS/IFS/IAS exams each year. The department has a proud legacy of doyen of Botany, Prof.V.Puri, furthered by Prof. Y.S. Murty, Prof. P.K. Gupta, Prof. D. Banerji, Prof.V.Singh, Prof.C.M.Govil, Prof.V.Kumar, Prof. G. Prakash, Dr. A.P. Garg, Dr. Pandey and Prof. A.K. Srivastava. Presently, Prof. Y. Vimala, Prof. M.U. Charaya, Dr. Bhawna Bajpai,Dr. Ashok Kumar and Dr. Ishwar Singh are holding the torch for the coming generation of Botanists. The department has a rich list of its reputed Alumni contributing in Nation’s development.
Fields of Specialization:
Tissue Culture for secondary metabolite upscaling, Developmental and Stress Physiology, Phytochemistry, Enzyme Technology, Heavy
Metal Toxicology, Rhizobium Technology, Microbial Nanotechnology, Mycology, Plant Pathology, Soil Microbiology, Microbial    remediation of Pollutants and Medicinal Microbiology .
Post-Graduate Course:

M.Sc. in Botany is a full time course spread over four semesters. Courses in first three semesters are pertaining to various aspects of Botanical Science while the fourth semester students are groomed for specialization in Plant Biotechnology by offering courses like Recombinant DNA Technology, Tissue Culture Technology, Microbial Biotechnology, Environmental Biotechnology.

From the session 2016-17, the department will adopt CBCS and new syllabi will be added.
M.Sc, Course in Industrial Biotechnology is a self-financing course of two-year duration.
M.Phil. Program
it is a two semester pre-Ph.D. Programme in Research Methodology& Computer Applications, Advanced Botany, Plant Tissue Culture, Microbial and Industrial Biotechnology, Microbial Nanotechnology, Advanced Mycology and Plant Pathology and Stress Physiology.
Designation Name Qulaifications Specializations Email Resume
Professor Emeritus A.K. Srivastava M.Sc., Ph.D., FBS, FSCG, FSGPB Cytogenetics and Phytoremediation Email Resume
Professor Y. Vimala M.Sc. M.Phil, Ph.D., FBS, FLS, FSPRB Plant Developmental and Stress Physiology, Phytochemistry, Plant Tissue Culture Email Resume
Associate Professors (Head) Rup Narayan M.Sc., Ph.D. Environmental Heterogeneity, InvasiveEcology and Biodiversity Email Resume
Bhawana Bajpai M.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D. Mycology and Plant Pathology Email Resume
Ashok Kumar M.Sc., M.Phil, Ph.D. Microbiology , Rhizobium Technology Email Resume
Ishwar Singh M.Sc., Ph.D. Phytochemistry, Tissue Culture and Molecular Biology Email Resume
M.Sc. Industrial Biotechnology
M.Sc. Botany
M.Sc. Botany (Open Electives)
M.Sc. Botany (Choice Based Credit System)
M.Phil. Botany
B.Sc. Botany



This page is being uploaded.....
About Us | Faculty | Courses | Colleges | Institution | Establishment | Library | Admission |Syllabus |Contact Us
© Copyright Protected. Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut. All Rights Reserved.